Garden Stools and a newly styled wall and vignette

Isn’t it funny how a new purchase for your home can inspire you to re-decorate?  Last week I told you about the garden stools I purchased at Goodwill.  As soon as I returned home I started moving furniture around.  I knew that I wanted the garden stools to be used in my family room so that I could pull them out for extra seating when we have company.  I have an empty wall in my family room that I figured would be perfect.  The wall holds one of my favorite pieces of art.  Here is what it looked like after I put the stools under the painting.

The scale was all wrong.  There was way too much space between the painting and the garden stools – and there was nothing happening to help relate the art to the garden stools.  I brought in a table that I had in my foyer.  The table was purchased at HomeGoods but is almost identical to this one sold at Ballard Designs (and for the record my purchase price was 1/4 of the price).

Adding the table was definitely an improvement.  Now let’s create a little vignette.  I just borrowed books and other items from around my house.

Looking at these pictures, I’m pretty happy with my newly styled wall and vignette.  I’m sure I’ll play around with different accessories in the future.  If you’re looking for more information on to how to create an interesting tablescape, Maria Killam, Colour Expert, has a great post on her site about how to style a vignette.

Now, what color to paint my stools.  Do I go bold with orange?  Classic with Navy?  Or play it safe with white?  Decisions, decisions.

On a side note, do you like my painting?  When it comes to selecting art for my home, I simply purchase what I love.  This painting was purchased at HomeGoods for only $50 dollars.  I’m sure it’s a mass produced piece, and I’m not even able to make out the artist’s signature.   Despite this, when I look at the piece I feel happy.  I love the colors – I love the orange dress and the unexpected pop of color with the yellow umbrella.  I wonder where this handsome couple is going.  What city are they in?  Is it a first date, or have they been married for years?  What is your favorite piece of art?  Where did you purchase it and why do you love it?

Leave a Reply

